Sri Vajranath’s established Thakurji in Vrindvan and Thakurji moving from Vrindavan

It is said that Vajranabha, the great-grandson of Krishna had 16 Deities carved. He is said to have had these Deities carved 100 years after the disappearance of Krishna. It is said that these deities were carved from a rare imperishable stone called Braja. He established hundreds of temples and Deities and excavated kundas in the Braja area. Vajranabha was the son of Aniruddha. Aniruddha father was Pradyumna, the first son born of Krishna and Rukmini.

The four presiding Deities of Braja Mandala (4 Dev of Vrindavan) – Sri Harideva of Govardhana, Sri Keshava Deva of Mathura, Sri Baladeva (Dauji) of Beldeo, and Govinda Deva of Vrindavana, who has now been moved to Jaipur.
There are two Naths – Sri Nathji, who was originally at Govardhana and is now in the town of Nathdwar, which is near Udaipur in Rajasthan, and Sri Gopinatha, who is now in Jaipur.
The two Gopalas are – Sri Mahona, who is now in the town of Karoli in Rajasthan, and Saksi-gopal, who is now in the town of Saksi-gopal Orissa near Puri.
The four Mahadevas (deities of Lord Siva) are – Chakalesvara at Govardhana, Kamesvara at Kamyavana, Bhutesvara at Mathura, and Gopisvara in Vrindavana.
The four goddesses carved are – Manasi Devi at Govardhana, Vrinda Devi at Kamyavana, Patala Devi at Mathura, and Yogamaya Devi at Vrindavana.

In the seventeenth century, when the Muslims attacked Vrindavana and Braja, many of the original Deities in the temples were moved out of Braja. Several of the Gosvami’s original Deities were first moved to Radha-Kunda and then to Kamyavana. They were then moved to Jaipur in Rajasthan. Deities were installed in a new temple, because when a temple is desecrated or partially destroyed it is considered that it can no longer be used to worship installed Deities. This was true of the Govindaji, Madana Mohana and Gopinatha temples. Since the Deity of Radha-Raman was small, this Deity was not removed from Vrindavana.The Deities installed in place of the original Deities are called pratibhu murtis. They are expanded forms, which are nondifferent from the original Deities. Since the original Deities stayed at Radha-Kunda and Kamyavana, temples have been established at these places which contain pratibhu murtis to honor the Lord’s visit to these places.

Deities tliat have moved

1.Sri Govindaji Jaipur, Rajasthan

2.Sri Gopinatha Jaipur, Rajasthan

3.Sri Daamodara Jaipur, Rajasthan

4.Sri Madhava Jaipur, Rajasthan

5.Sri Radha-Vinod Jaipur, Rajasthan

6.Sri Madana Mohana Karoli, Rajasthan

7.Sri Gopala (Nathji) Nathdwar, Rajasthan

8.Sri Harideva Rajdhani, near Kanpur, UP

9.Sri Vrinda Devi Kamyavana ‘

10. Sri Kesava Rajdhani, UP (now lost)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: